Tourist Visa Exemption

Tourist Visa Exemption

9 Jul 2020

According to the Interior Ministerial Announcements dated 1 October B.E. 2545 (2002), 20 December B.E. 2545 (2002), 18 October B.E. 2547 (2004), 6 May B.E. 2548 (2005), and 23 June 2554 (2011), passport holders from 48 countries and 1 special administrative region - Hong Kong SAR - are not required to obtain a visa when entering Thailand for tourism purposes and will be permitted to stay in the Kingdom for a period of not exceeding 30 days on each visit. If such foreigners enter the Kingdom at the immigration checkpoints which border neighboring countries, they will be allowed to stay for 15 days each time, except Malaysian nationals who cross the borderline from Malaysia whose granted period of stay will not exceed 30 days each time.

Please note that Tourist Visa Exemption does not apply to foreigners holding Travel Document for Aliens issued by these countries.

Foreigners entering Thailand under the Tourist Visa Exemption category must possess adequate finances for the duration of stay in Thailand (i.e., cash 10,000 Baht per person and 20,000 Baht per family).

  1. Australia: Commonwealth of Australia
  2. Austria: Republic of Austria
  3. Belgium: Kingdom of Belgium
  4. Brazil: Federative Republic of Brazil (****)
  5. Bahrain: State of Bahrain
  6. Brunei Darussalam: Negara Brunei Darussalam
  7. Canada
  8. Denmark: Kingdom of Denmark
  9. Finland: Republic of Finland
  10. France: French Republic
  11. Germany: Federal Republic of Germany
  12. Greece: Hellenic Republic
  13. Hong Kong: Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
  14. Iceland: Republic of Iceland
  15. Indonesia: Republic of Indonesia
  16. Ireland: Republic of Ireland
  17. Israel: State of Israel
  18. Italy: Republic of Italy
  19. Japan
  20. Korea: Republic of Korea (****)
  21. Kuwait: State of Kuwait
  22. Luxembourg: Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
  23. Malaysia
  24. Monaco: Principality of Monaco
  25. Netherlands: Kingdom of the Netherlands
  26. New Zealand
  27. Norway: Kingdom of Norway
  28. Oman: Sultanate of Oman
  29. Peru: Republic of Peru (****)
  30. Philippines: Republic of the Philippines
  31. Portugal : Republic of Portugal
  32. Qatar: State of Qatar
  33. Singapore: Republic of Singapore
  34. Spain: Kingdom of Spain
  35. South Africa: Republic of South Africa
  36. Sweden: Kingdom of Sweden
  37. Switzerland: Swiss Confederation
  38. Turkey: Republic of Turkey
  39. United Arab Emirates
  40. United Kingdom: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  41. United States of America
  42. Vietnam: Socialist Republic of Vietnam
  43. Czech: Czech Republic
  44. Hungary: Republic of Hungary
  45. Liechtenstein: Principality of Liechtenstein
  46. Poland: Republic of Poland
  47. Slovak: Slovak Republic
  48. Slovenia : Republic of Slovenia

(****)Thailand holds bilateral agreements on visa exemption for holders of diplomatic, official and ordinary passports for a visit of not exceeding 90 days with Brazil, the Republic of Korea and Peru. Therefore, nationals of these 3 countries are exempted from visa requirements and are permitted to enter and stay in Thailand for a period of not exceeding 90 days.

For more information on countries that have bilateral agreements on visa exemption with Thailand, please see List of countries which have concluded agreements on the exemption of visa requirements with Thailand.

For further/regularly updated information, please visit Thai Ministry of Foreign Affairs' website.